THOUGHTS ON MY MOTHER’S PASSING AT EASTER

Picture of Mom (2)

It isn’t Easter anymore, so I’m sure this doesn’t make the most “on time” post entry, but it is one that I simply have to share.  I spent last week making service arrangements for my mother, who passed from this world just in time to meet the Lord on Resurrection Sunday. She was in the same home she lived in for the past 20+ years when she took her last breath, surrounded by her family. I remember at the time that my dad asked if we would like to sing. So we began to sing…and somewhere in the middle of our rendition of “Great is Thy Faithfulness”, she slipped away from this world and into the arms of Jesus.

My mother was a woman who lived a life of sacrificial love, wanting nothing more than to honor God and see her family happy and healthy. She had a humility that always acknowledged God’s will and loved the old hymns of the faith. I think I will always remember her anytime I hear the Halleujah chorus from Handel’s “Messiah”. (My dad made a scratchy recording of it on, yes – a cassette tape that she played literally dozens of times. 🙂 ) She was God’s constant blessing in my life growing up, not to mention the many years she stood by me through illnesses, apartment moves, and getting ready for any big occasion. She taught me how to be kind, how to be hospitable and to always finish any job I start. I didn’t inherit her artistic talent, but people tell me I’m a spittin’ image of her, and that is good. She was always ready with a meal, lived to care for my dad, and was never happier than when we were all together at the dinner table.  She had a simple yet strong faith that loved and held on to God.

I can’t begin to imagine what she sees and knows right now. I do know one thing, though. She is praising God more than the greatest enthrallment in praise we have ever had on Earth…and she sees Christ face to face. She is laughing, greeting her siblings that have gone before, and will never shed a tear in pain again.

The timing could not have been more bittersweet or surreal, because it was on the first “Easter” that Christ took that same journey into the grave and eternity many years ago. He too, died and was buried. But there is a big difference – He is deity and physically rose from the grave.

“But the angel answered and said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you seek Jesus who was crucified. He is not here; for He is risen, as He said…” (Matthew 28:5-6).

No one but deity could have risen from the dead, and no one but deity could have lived a sinless life. Jesus did both. Not only that, but He laid down that life as a perfect sacrifice, so that anyone who trusts in Him can also approach God with no fear of condemnation.

“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from the wrath through Him.” (Romans 5:9-10)

It is because of Christ’s resurrection that we could look at my mother, who was a believer, and know that Jesus paved her way to eternal life. Because He rose from the grave, she too has risen spiritually into eternal life.

Check out Romans 6:5-6:

“Therefore we were buried with Him through baptism into death, that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. For if we have been united together in the likeness of His death, certainly we also shall be in the likeness of His resurrection.”

As we saw her slip away, the meaning of Easter was no longer a reality in an I-believe-and-profess kind of way, but now became a  true-to-life-played-out-before-our-eyes reality.  This is where the rubber meets the road, friends. We couldn’t sing “Morning by morning new mercies I see” without remembering the greatest mercy of His rising that first morning. We are saddened, but not without comfort. While we grieve, we are not in despair. What better way to understand the significance of Easter – the resurrection of Christ, than when we need the grace of His resurrection the most?

Let’s not forget the lyrics of the rest of that song:

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
Thy own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

This is the meaning of Easter, folks. So I’ll go ahead and say it…let’s not dilute this holy event with the silliness of Easter eggs and a bunny!

The fact that a holy God would choose to show Himself merciful to save you and I is an unfathomable mystery. Even the angels can’t understand it. (1 Peter 1:12). For that I believe that there is continual praise in heaven, a holiday every day, so to speak. (Rev. 4:8)

So while we formally celebrated Easter a couple of weeks ago, I believe this is cause for continual praise on earth as well…so maybe this message isn’t so “not on time” after all.

I’ll leave you with His own words as the parting question: “… I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:25-26)

11 thoughts on “THOUGHTS ON MY MOTHER’S PASSING AT EASTER

  1. What beautiful words to honor your mother and Jesus! She sounds like she was a wonderful mother to you. I also was comforted during my grief on the occasions of my parents deaths, but it was oh so painful to lose them. I am keeping you in my prayers.

  2. Beautiful Margo! A wondrous and celebratory event – the joining of a godly life who is in the presence of The Lord, and reality of the resurrection of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, who is at the right hand of God, the Father of our Lord Christ. It must be truly bliss and fulfilling to be in the presence of God as your mother is presently, for she is beholding and experiencing the full import of the Hallelujah’s to her Lord.

  3. Your mom sounds like an amazing woman. What a blessing she left you and others she loved in her spiritual legacy. I love the idea of her going home with praises sending her off. Blessings to you and your family!

  4. Thank you for sharing this experience, and your strong words. My mother passed away at 3:20 AM, Easter morning, just a few weeks ago. It’s been difficult to accept. It is relieving that she went to be with the Lord on Easter. Bless you.

    • Dear Becky,

      Thank you for writing! My heart goes out to you in your loss. I feel a kinship with you in knowing we are going through this same experience at the same time. I too find it hard to fully grasp how sudden and final a loved one’s passing can be. Yet, in Christ, we can rest in the comfort of knowing that both our mothers are joyful and at peace in heaven. God Bless you.

  5. Dearest Margo,

    My heart goes out to you. When our moms move to heaven is probably one of the times when the Shadow falls heaviest upon us. It’s been a few months for you now, and I know how your heart aches. My mom left us at 10:20 a.m. on March 5, 2005. It was the most difficult thing I ever endured.

    In the months following, the ache was so severe that I began to spend more time, mentally, in heaven. It was then that Jesus and I began to decorate my home there! We’ve chosen moss instead of carpet, vines instead of plasterboard walls that have to be washed and painted!

    Her passing became a gift for me in that for the first time in my life I was so heavenly minded that I could be of some earthly good. One of my favorite pastimes now is to imagine what I will be doing a million years from today. I have a feeling that my mom, who made every child and grandchild a special quilt is at it again – this time using heaven’s finest materials!

    Even on earth, we don’t think much about a foreign country until someone we love moves there. After that, we pay special attention to their new land, and have greater interest in it because of their presence in that place. I think it’s the same with heaven. I’ve learned some wonderful things about heaven (like: it’s not going to be us in nighties sitting on clouds strumming a harp forever!), and I’m truly “homesick” for the land, and for my Lord.

    May Jesus continue to comfort you and give you peace beyond comprehension as you adjust to life without your mom.

    Tender hugs for you today,
    Tami
    \o/

    • Tami, your sweet note made my day. I am sorry for your loss, too. No matter how long ago they passed, I don’t believe we will ever stop missing loved ones who we have known all our lives after their departure. It will be so incredible to see them again, with shining, joyful faces and perfect bodies.

      You are so right about wanting to know more about heaven! That’s exactly what I experienced shortly after my mom left. I read books and sermons about all the details that the Bible tells us about heaven, only now, it isn’t just a place “out there”, it is real estate that my mom, and your mom reside in every day. It is so much more real that it ever was before.

      So is the reality of praise and worship. I listen to the lyrics more because the words and gratitude of salvation apply so specifically and so the comfort of their eternal lives.

      Thank you for sharing

      God Bless you

  6. Pingback: THOUGHTS ON MY MOTHER’S PASSING (ONE YEAR LATER) | Ministry in Words

Leave a Reply

