HOW TO DISCOVER YOUR YOUR CALLING

Gifts from god

How do you discover your calling?

I never thought too much about that question until I first started to have an interest in Bible Study. Sure, I’d always gone to Sunday school and church, but I it wasn’t until about ten years ago that God really gave me a passion to dive into what we were studying on my own. It soon just became second nature to create studies (and now blog entries) out of what I discovered.

Looking back, I can see how God orchestrated several confirmations in my life to cause me to consider writing (in whatever form) as my calling. Maybe you can relate to several. Let me start by saying that when I say “calling”,  I’m not talking about principles and commands that He has asked us all to live out as Christians, such as the great commission itself (spreading the gospel), loving your neighbor, etc. Nor am I talking about the spiritual gifts we all have as believers (Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faith, Gentleness, and Self-Control, Gal. 5:22-23). I’m talking about specific abilities or aptitudes that are unique to each of us.

I’ll start with internal confirmations today, and continue with external confirmations in my next post.

So without further ado, here’s my list. You can know God’s calling on your life if:

  1. God initiates it – Remember Paul’s journey to Damascus? (Acts 9:1-22). God got his attention, to say the least — He struck him blind. Some days after being restored, Paul began to preach Christ in the synagogues. (Acts 9:20), as he was commissioned (Acts 9:15).

Now God may not be as dramatic with us, but He will get our attention. He had to get mine through a long illness. It was really difficult, but I look back and see how He used it to re-direct me back to Him in the first place, which then led to studying and writing. Whether dramatic or not, He will steer you closer to Him, so that you have a heart that is ready to use the abilities He has given you. After all, “He who began a good work in you will be faithful to complete it.”(Phil 1:6).

2.  It is by compulsion – Hear the words of Paul in 1 Corinthians 9:16: “For if I preach the gospel, I have nothing to boast of, for necessity    is laid upon me, yes, woe is me if I do not preach the gospel”.

 I love one commentary of this verse: “Paul did not preach from personal pride, but from divine compulsion. He had no other choice, because God had sovereignly set him apart for service” (The John MacArthur Bible, P.1742)

Do you ever feel compelled for God’s service in a particular way? Sometimes I look back at my work and wonder when I had time to finish them. I guess the Lord just put the desire in me and put it into motion.

I don’t consider myself a writer…but it’s what God has given me to do.

It’s the offering that comes out of me.

My friend Chuck has a natural gift to teach. It’s second nature for him to stand in front of a group and speak. Every once in a while, he’ll tell me how especially articulate he felt, how the words flowed out of him. That’s God giving him that lucidity.

Now, this doesn’t mean that ministry will be effortless or without hardship. Again, Paul is a great example of this. (2 Corinthians 11:23 -27), but I believe it does mean that we as believers will be given the strength to be the vessel God uses for His purpose.

3. It is through what we love doing – I believe that we discover our gifts, big or small, in terms of what energizes us the most. It’s what we would do even if we are dog-tired, just because we love it so much; because it is so much a part of who we are. This is what writing means to me. It’s a quiet joy that glows inside of me, a joy I have to remind myself to restrain so I won’t constantly talk about it so much that I bore everyone! 🙂

 If you find yourself praying for God to grant you the physical ability and time on earth to pursue the ministry He has given you, you may have found your calling.

Well, that’s it for now. The next post will feature a couple of external confirmations of one’s calling.

Have you discovered your calling? If so, have any of these rang true in your life?  Anything you’d like to add? I would love to hear your stories!

9 thoughts on “HOW TO DISCOVER YOUR YOUR CALLING

  1. Thank you so much for this article. I’m finding my way these days – for the first time in my adult life I have no children at home for which I am responsible. I’ve been asking what life after children looks like. So far it’s been a wild ride. This was helpful!

    \o/
    Praise Jesus!

    • Thank you, Tami.

      It looks like you have already accomplished so much! May you embrace this next chapter in your life as you see even more of what God has ahead for you.

      Margo

      • Thanks for your sweet encouragement. I’m excited to see what He has in store. Not just here, but in the forever afterward! Some days I wonder what we’ll be doing in a million years. No doubt it will be incredible…makes me homesick!

        \o/

  2. Yes, I can relate to the feeling of compulsion. When the Lord gives me something, it is time to write. Otherwise, there is nothing there. When something comes, it feels I am drawn in to a place I hate to leave until I feel I have “tied it up with a bow.” Thanks for reading and being an apparent fellow word nerd. 🙂 –Janice

  3. I had the hardest time figuring out what God was calling me to do growing up because I never thought I was talented in anything and wasn’t confident enough, but thankfully God put people in my life who pushed me into the direction that I needed to go.

    I always had a heart for teaching in church but I was way too shy to speak up, but one day my teen teacher saw some potential in me and she asked me to teach teens with her… and I’ve been doing it ever since. (8 years now). And I absolutely love it!

    Same thing with writing. I’ve been journaling since I was 8 but it wasn’t until a youth leader asked me to write a short post once a week for my church blog a few years back that I realized I could write not only for myself, but also for others. And it’s been such a blessing for me to use my writing to encourage others in the same way God has encouraged me. 🙂

    It’s so great to find what you love and then use it to bring God glory. 🙂

    • Hi Anna,

      I’m so glad you shared your story, not only because its so encouraging, but its a great testimony leading to my next post ~ How to discover your calling in regards to external confirmation.

      God does put other people in our lives to cultivate and confirm our abilities, whatever they may be. He also makes our abilities productive, that is, they bear fruit.

      PS: So cool that you got to blog for your church

      For a similar article that anna wrote go to http://daughterbydesign.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/i-write-because-i-cant-help-it/

      Margo

      • Yes! God definitely puts people in our lives for the specific purpose of confirming our abilities. I can’t wait to read your next post about that! 🙂

        And I blogged for my church only for a few months along with a few other people but they stopped having us do that (which was fine because it gave me the push that I needed to start my own blog) 😉

        Funny how things work out like that. Hope you have a lovely day Margo!

  4. Pingback: HOW TO DISCOVER YOUR CALLING, PART 2 | Ministry in Words

Leave a Reply

