HOW TO DISCOVER YOUR CALLING, PART 2

Hello Readers!

I continue today with the last post in my series “How to Discover your Calling”. If you recall, my last post mentioned that there can be a few internal confirmations of one’s calling, such as:

1)      God’s initiating

2)     One’s own compulsion and momentum

3)      A love for that particular ministry

Do you love to serve in a capacity so much that you just want to yell:

I love my job!!!!!!!!

Now, I’m not necessarily talking about the kind of job that you clock into with health benefits and a paycheck…but it’s a job none the less. They involve the talents and abilities God has put within each of us to fill a niche for ministry.

Also as I mentioned in my last post, I’m not talking about the principles and commands that God has asked us to live out as Christians, such as sharing the gospel or the spiritual gifts built into each one of us (Gal. 5:22-23). I’m talking about specific abilities or aptitudes that are unique to each person.

This week, I’ll focus on how you can discover your calling based on external confirmations. So here are just a couple:

1)      Your calling will meet a specific need in the church:

1 Corinthians 12 focuses on the diversity of ministries in the church, but emphasizes that they all work together to build the whole. God sovereignly appoints each member to a task, and each is just as valuable to the church.

“There are diversities of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are differences of ministries, but the same Lord. And there are diversities of activities, but it is the same God who works all in all. But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to each one for the profit of all. (1 Corinthians 12:4-7)

Are you good at organizing? (You can help plan and coordinate mission trips)

Hosting  people? (Take in a student and share God’s love with him/her)

Working a sound system? (Opportunities abound in the church services)

Are you techy? (You can set up the church website)

These and many more meet a specific need in a church. Don’t rule out all the “behind the scenes” work that aren’t normally considered gifts just because they aren’t front and center. If you have a skill that is useful to the church, that could possibly be your valued gift, especially if you see that it has brought forth a good outcome. (1 Corin. 12:15-27)

2)      Your calling may be drawn to your attention/confirmed by the spiritual people in your life.

God uses others in the body of Christ as a means to point out the talents and ministries that are suited for us.

Take the example of Paul’s writing to Timothy:

“Do not neglect the gift that is in you, which was given to you by prophecy with the laying on of the hands of the eldership.” (1 Timothy 4:14)

Paul affirmed the gift of leading and preaching that he saw in Timothy. The fact that the elders recognized this gift and had a public commissioning for him shows a collective, external confirmation by the church.

good job 2

Another example: I have a friend that is a natural speaker and teacher. When I first heard her give her testimony in a small group, I noticed how easy it was for her. She told me the other day that she is now teaching a Bible Study. I’m not surprised and I told her so. I confirmed that gift in her; she is truly bent in that manner.

Well, those are just a few.

Have you discovered a God-given gift or talent? What are some ways that you are (or can) use it for ministry? Do you have a neat testimony to share? Would love to hear your job description!

7 thoughts on “HOW TO DISCOVER YOUR CALLING, PART 2

  1. Good reminder Margo. I really enjoy your terse comments and insight into this controversial area. Thank you.

    Chuck Caldwell

  2. You’ve given excellent insights in both of your posts. Thank you for sharing what you’ve gleaned.

    My current job description is writing this blog and communicating with other bloggers. I LOVE MY JOB! I get to encourage, challenge, and exhort the body. It doesn’t pay a penny (in earth dollars, at least), and I couldn’t care less!

    \o/

    • Thank you…I can tell you love your job description by what I’ve seen on your blog. I agree. What is life if we don’t use what He has given us towards eternal purpose? Thank you for your sharing your joy.

Leave a Reply

