CRY

Abba Father

Dear Friends,

I don’t think that it is any coincidence that the topic of this post happened to land at this point in time for me. Remember my last post about John Piper’s sermon on the evidences of being a child of God? The first evidence in the study text of Romans 8:12-16 is a desire to die to ourselves and our own agenda; it is seeking God’s will instead:

Romans 8 12-16

We know that we have the Holy Spirit (without which we cannot be saved, John 14:16-17), because it is He that gives us the power to overcome our own selfish desires and sin.

But the second part of this scripture has especially resonated on my heart this week, for it states, “For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba, Father!”, The Spirit of himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God.”

The word Abba is an Aramaic word that would most closely be translated as “Daddy.” Like young children would address their fathers, the child of God is described as someone who has been adopted (by grace through faith in Christ, Ephesians 2:8) as His beloved, His own, his precious child. We are able to cry “Abba Father”, in times of need and find refuge in Him. Though God is mighty and holy, He embraces His child as a close, comforting, and loving parent.

This was made evident this week when we heard the unexpected and heartbreaking news that a friend had just been diagnosed with advanced lung cancer.

It’s news that has shaken me and left many of us with an “Abba Father” cry.

It is the cry and the trust you cling to when “the props” (as Piper said) we would stand on are knocked out from under us.

 It is the cry when doubts and fears abound and nothing makes sense but that we know our Abba Father is our one refuge,

 And that He will never leave us or forsake us.

And that is what she is doing. Crying out, yes, in questions and bewilderment as any of us would, but also in a stunning trust and confidence in His presence. Only a child of God can do that.

Can anyone relate to a time when words escape and all that’s left is your own “Abba, Father” cry?

6 thoughts on “CRY

  1. I lost a former student of mine this week to lung cancer. These similar thoughts filtered through my head and my heart as I prayed for her husband and her children. It is a comfort to know that God is our Father and He comforts us in times like this. Nice post and could not have come at a better time. God Bless and keep writing!!!.

    • David, I am so sorry for your loss, and for the family of that sweet woman. All the suffering we endure here on Earth would be meaningless without knowing the One who will show us His purpose for the circumstances of every life…and He is our great comfort in the meantime.

  2. There have been so many times when all that’s left was to cry, the most recent was before I got my hysterectomy He answered my prayers of deliverance. I suffered for 15 years with endometriosis then this year on my birthday He had mercy on me! But I had to cry and submit my spirit to Him.

    • Amazing. God is so good in His mercy. It must have been such a real time of testing and growing in the Lord for you, as I have also known in my life through illness He has healed.Ultimately, we know He is gracious in His peace and salvation. Thank you for sharing!

      • Amen, Amen! It truly was and I would do it over 100x. The verse I resited to my self over and over again was Romans 5:3-5 “And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”

        • That’s pretty amazing to say that you would go through it again for what you have gained. Would love to read any future posts of this testimony! Looking back on my own illness in the past, I can tell you that it was the hardest time in my life, but there was great spiritual gain. I see the faithfulness of God and I see why I had to go through it. When we cry to Him as Father His response is peace. PTL!

Leave a Reply

