A JOURNAL ENTRY WRITTEN EXACTLY ONE YEAR AGO TODAY

Dear Friends,

I don’t normally write posts like this, but this one just fell in my lap. I have to share it.

I was looking  through my journal from last year, and my eyes fell upon an entry.

Then I noticed that it was written exactly one year ago today.

January 7, 2013

I’m seeing something in Mom as I observe her these days.

I see peace.

She’s much more mellow; more calm.  I see it when she says that this is the suffering God wants for her.

I saw it the other day when she made reference to only being here for a little while…

“Right?” she asked.

“Yes, Mom”, I said, much to my shock and surprise.

My instinct was to say “Don’t say that, Mom! You’ll be here for a long time!”.

But I didn’t, because I know…I knew on some level…she is leaving us.

She is starting the first leg of her journey and we are seeing her fade…

*****

It’s been a whole year since that entry, but I look back and I see how God carried us in those days, and I see His grace with us still. Most of all, I look forward to the joy ahead.

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Revelation 21:4

2 thoughts on “A JOURNAL ENTRY WRITTEN EXACTLY ONE YEAR AGO TODAY

  1. Thank you :). I guess it goes to show that we are not alone in what we face. Ultimately, we can take comfort in knowing that we also have a High Priest that can emphasize with us! Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

