ANNOUNCEMENT: I’VE CONVERTED TO EVERY RELIGION! (JUST IN CASE)

Religious symbolsHey, I have a great idea. With so many religions in the world, I hate to think I was wrong all this time. Why not follow all of them? Why not just play it safe and cover my bases by worshiping every god? I mean, just in case?

If I convert to every religion, I can stand before whoever turns out to be god and say, “Hey, remember me? I was on board! Sure was busy, though. As a Muslim, I made my way to Mecca faithfully. As a Jew, I was at the temple every Saturday when I wasn’t working on my 2 year mission as a Mormon. I kept my Catholic rosary in prayers and confession, and let’s not forget about all my audits as a Scientologist! This blog would get a complete overhaul. I’ve got so many ideas! I would post vegetarian recipes to suit my Hindu faith and maybe a spell or two for my Wicca sisters, followed by Buddhist prayers throughout the week, and then of course, I’d rest on Sundays. The point would be that at the end of my life, I would be able to say, “God, whoever you are, I was a believer!

Having every faith would be like having a mutual fund. I could diversify across the board so I can spread my spiritual safety net as far as I can.

Sounds ridiculous? Yes, but that’s what the people of Athens did in the 17th Chapter of Acts:

“Now while Paul waited for them at Athens, his spirit was provoked within him when he saw that the city was given over to idols… (Acts 17:16)

“Then Paul stood in the midst of the Areopagus and said, “Men of Athens, I perceive that in all things you are very religious; for as I was passing through and considering the objects of your worship, I even found an alter with this inscription:

TO THE UNKNOWN GOD

Therefore, the One whom you worship without knowing, Him I proclaim to you: God, who made the world and everything in it, since He is Lord of Heaven and Earth, does not dwell in temples made with hands. Nor is He worshiped with men’s hands, as though He needed anything, since He gives to all life, breath, and all things. – Acts 17: 22-25

Paul noticed that the city of Rome was homage to every deity that men would worship. There were many shrines and relics dedicated to one god or another. He saw them everywhere he went. There was even one that they called “unknown” since they felt there may be a god beyond their ability to understand, and if they didn’t know him, they figured “better safe than sorry” and build a shrine to him too.

Paul seized the opportunity to speak to them right where they were spiritually. “You wonder who this ’Unknown God’ is?” he asked, “I’ll tell you…” Then he proceeded to describe Him as the creator of the world, the one whom gives to all things. He was the one and only. He was not just the missing piece, He was the whole picture.

People can have a “just in case” mentality about God. They are not sure which god is the true god, so they are on board with all of them. Just like the Athenians, they subscribe to all religions, or believe that “all roads lead to the same end” to cover their bases. As “politically correct” as that may sound, it can’t logically be true. On a rational level, I thought of some reasons why:

  • Where will you spend eternity? Are you going to heaven? Will you be reincarnated, stay in purgatory, continue to various stages of being, be annihilated, or go to hell? Can’t be all of the above.
  • Who is your true master? Converting to all religions does nothing if you don’t truly believe in them, do they? Does any god want less than your all? Would he really have his rightful place as god if he didn’t?
  • Can you serve both God and Satan?

By saying “no matter who is true, I’m going to be onboard with all of them”, you are effectively cancelling out all of them.

Jesus said, “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life. No man comes to the Father except through Me.”- John 14:6

If someone claims to be the Son of God, fulfilled prophecies, performed miracles, rose from the dead, and made such an all or nothing statement, wouldn’t you think twice about His exclusive claim to deity?

2 thoughts on “ANNOUNCEMENT: I’VE CONVERTED TO EVERY RELIGION! (JUST IN CASE)

  1. Great Post.Margaret.
    I am sure this position is where a lot of people would find themselves, in a world that takes a bet on every horse in the race.
    I am glad Jesus Christ is where your heart belongs.
    Jack

    • Thank you, Jack, and you as well.

      Notwithstanding any other stronger and more spiritual point, from a purely logical view, it is impossible to follow all religions, ie wherever the wind blows…

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

