50 THINGS I’VE LEARNED IN 50 YEARS

50 years 50 lessonsOk, so this will be the last time I’ll even hint that I just turned 50, but I just wanted to share a list of what I’ve learned over the years…not perfectly or completely, but God is good, and He has shown me these principles and virtues in one way or another along the way. (Apparently admitting that I’m middle aged is not one of them!)

50 things I learned in 50 years

  1. God’s mercy is new every day.
  2. Never pass up a good opportunity to keep your mouth shut.
  3. There’s a good reason for hardships, even if we don’t see it right away.
  4. Of relationships: Humility and forgiveness go a long way.
  5. Listen to the still, small voice inside you. It’s called your conscience.
  6. We are just here for a little while…Time is fleeting. Use it for eternal purpose.
  7. You can tell a lot about someone by who they say is their hero
  8. You may not think God is listening, but you always find out that He is.
  9. Life is not fair or easy
  10. Being in God’s will is peaceful and progressive
  11. God can change your plans at any time
  12. Peace is often a good measure of answered prayer
  13. Looking back, I can see how God has worked in my life to steer me towards His will
  14. Time alone with God is rich
  15. Everything, even our mistakes work together for the good
  16. Work as unto the Lord
  17. You can make a living, but it isn’t your life
  18. God uses a few people to do the greatest things
  19. Joy in the Lord is the fullest kind of joy
  20. I don’t deserve God’s grace but He gives it anyway
  21. Don’t expect from others what only God can give
  22. Finish a job you started
  23. God shows his mercy in the uneventful ways
  24. Slow down
  25. Creativity is a gift from God
  26. Those you never expect to show up will show up
  27. Say you’re sorry
  28. Solitude is underrated
  29. There’s nothing like discovering wisdom in God’s word
  30. God’s discipline tells us that we are His
  31. The less time I have to work with, the more I get done
  32. I’m not as righteous as I think I am
  33. God is kinder than I think He is
  34. I think I can do it on my own until I can’t
  35. Think carefully of the motives of anything done in the name of happiness
  36. Health is taken for granted until it’s lost
  37. When you are angry, pray before act. The outcome will be different.
  38. It’s better to woo and persuade in kindness than force with anger.
  39. Ask the right questions.
  40. If you look for an opportunity to share your faith, God will give it
  41. Sometimes the consequences are waived
  42. Humility defuses envy
  43. God has not called me to fit in
  44. Never stop doing your best just because someone didn’t give you credit
  45. One of the greatest gifts you can give someone is the willingness to listen
  46. Take mental snapshots. They are moments in time that won’t ever go away.
  47. I have less time than I thought
  48. I shouldn’t have made it this far
  49. I wish I’d known then what I know now
  50. I have a lot more to learn

*****************************

There’s a story or two that I could share about each one, but then who doesn’t have their own list?

We’ve all had our battles and the scars to show for them, but with each we carry away the priceless bounty of new faith and insight we may not have gained any other way. Am I right?

As believers, I realize that He also teaches in His patience and kindness, in answered prayer that we don’t deserve, and in His rich fellowship as we walk in obedience with Him. Most of all, He teaches us clearly in His Word, which we can all look to in order to address any life circumstance and know Him more deeply.

As long as we live and breathe, we know that God isn’t finished with us yet. He has barely started with me, a work in progress.

What are some of your hard-learned lessons?

Can you relate to any I’ve listed?

How did you come to learn them?

What’s your greatest challenge in the Christian life?

“And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” (Philippians 1:6)

8 thoughts on “50 THINGS I’VE LEARNED IN 50 YEARS

  1. Great list. I totally agree with what you have learned. Is 25 supposed to be Creation is a gift from God? Hopefully there will be more list as I will be in heaven when you are 100.

    • Hi Lindy, no, I meant creativity but creation itself should definitely be on list as well. Let’s add it and make it an unofficial 51 things. 🙂

      I said creativity because part of being made in the image of God is the capacity to create and the joy that comes with it. There are so many people in the world that God has gifted in different ways. I believe all that creative capacity is a reflection of His glory because it originated in the mind of God; because He is our Creator.

      PS, and I can’t wait to find out what we’ll learn in Heaven. :). Thanks for the comment!

  2. I’m turning 51 in March, so here’s a possible 51st thing to add to the list, if you’re going to add:

    51. Every time I think I understand God’s word, He shows me something new.

    His blessings to you.

    DaveG.

    • Hi Dave! Good to hear from you! Yes, I believe we could live a lifetime and never stop learning of the wonder, mystery, and glory of God — and even more so beyond this life. “When we’ve been there 10,000 years, bright shining as the sun, we’ve no less days to sing God’s praise, Than when we’d first begun”.

      Blessings, Margo

Leave a Reply

