SAME-SEX MARRIAGE: AN OPEN LETTER TO CHRISTIANS

Same Sex marriageYesterday the Supreme Court ruled that same-sex marriage is legal in all 50 states. Going forward, this country will now recognize marriage as man and woman, man and man, woman and woman.

“Love Won”, they say.

The path of least resistance is to remain quiet if you don’t agree, or else be accused of bigotry and hatred.

But what do we say in response to a ruling that is a mockery of God’s laws, a ruling that many believe will tear away at the moral fabric of this country?

I submit to you today that it isn’t ultimately about speaking our minds or having a right to do so. I believe at the heart of the stereotyping and name-calling towards Christians is a rebellion against God, but it is also a backlash on Christians that perpetuate that image by the way they relate to those who have different beliefs.

We are told to speak the truth in love, which is a loaded statement. It’s a balance of conviction and compassion that can only be practiced through God’s work in our own hearts.  My simple perspective is to look to Christ, to Him as our example. When He came upon a woman about to be stoned for committing adultery, (and just for clarity, homosexuality is just as much of a sin, Romans 1:26). What was His reaction?

The scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman caught in adultery, and having set her in the center of the court, they said to Him, “Teacher, this woman has been caught in adultery, in the very act. Now in the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women; what then do You say?” They were saying this, testing Him, so that they might have grounds for accusing Him. But Jesus stooped down and with His finger wrote on the ground. But when they persisted in asking Him, He straightened up, and said to them, “He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.”  Again He stooped down and wrote on the ground.  When they heard it, they began to go out one by one, beginning with the older ones, and He was left alone, and the woman, where she was, in the center of the court Straightening up, Jesus said to her, “Woman, where are they? Did no one condemn you?” She said, “No one Lord.” And Jesus said, “I do not condemn you, either. Go. From now on sin no more.”(John 8:1-11)

It’s important to remember that Jesus approached this woman with kindness and genuine love, yet He never shied away from speaking the truth. Notice what He said next:  He said go and sin no more. It was not ok that she committed adultery. It was not ok if she continued in her sin.

Jesus was in balance. His love for this sinner wasn’t just with words, it was demonstrated.  Yet He was bold to speak the truth. I see two extremes among Christians: If we say we love, but don’t do anything to speak the truth, we can’t win anyone to salvation. There is also no salvation with a display of condemnation to someone else. It only breeds hate.Yes, I believe we as Christians must be involved politically. I will say this strongly.

There is no doubt that the government is a God-given tool to keep society from going completely berserk, and we must fight to put the right people in office. Yet spiritual change will not ultimately come as something pressing upon the masses. It begins in the heart, in preaching and sharing the Gospel. It begins from the inside out, as it does with all of us.

Then love will truly win.

***********

I’m challenged to examine my heart first. We must ask ourselves:

  • How do we really view those who don’t know the truth? Do we genuinely love them as human beings?
  • What is the motivation of a condemning spirit? Is it Fear? Anger? Our own guilt?
  • Are you and I prepared for the testing of our faith ahead? What should we be doing right now to understand the challenges ahead?

 

11 thoughts on “SAME-SEX MARRIAGE: AN OPEN LETTER TO CHRISTIANS

  1. I’m an American and most of all I’m a Christian. I do not agree with the us supreme court decision. I believe the marriage is between one man and women .my lady she is a girl.I love my country but I’m not proud of my government. I help prosucate many police officer and more lawyer. My website Sam tejas for Tx senator.

  2. I Am amazed by the Holy Spirit’s work in both of us! I read John 8 before my last post which inspired “Who are We?” Thank you sister for confirmation of the word.

  3. Sadly, I disagree with some of the content in this article as well as some of the comments that follow it.

    First of all, as a blood-bought child of the living God, I have come to the conclusion that being involved in America and the “fight for public morality” is first and foremost an indefensible and ultimately futile effort.

    Why? Because believers are well-outnumbered by the children of the devil. IMO, trying to get them to obey God in any matter is not what believers are about…growing in grace and knowledge, is. Obeying the Lord, is. Seeking Him and His will, is.

    Secondly, I see this in God’s word: ” No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.” ( 2 Timothy 2:4 )

    This was written to Timothy, but I believe that it applies to all believers as well. To me, we are called to have our focus on the inner war between our flesh and spirit, not to be “Christian Activists” trying to shape America into something that it isn’t…a Christian nation.

    I’ve enough on my plate seeking the Lord and warring with my flesh without having something like the the world and its ways taking my attention away from the Lord; I could spend literally thousands of hours fighting for what is right, only to have it slip away before my very eyes because I am outnumbered by the unrighteous; As I see it, that’s the problem with democracies and republics…they leave government in the hands of the people ( or they appear to ).To me, a good thing if EVERYONE is a believer…NOT a good thing if most everyone is the opposite, which is how the Bible describes we as believers are in this present world.

    IMO, the only cure for the present downward slide is to trust God to protect us as believers, and to weather the storm until Jesus comes; THEN and only THEN will things be corrected, as I see it. In the meantime, I think we as God’s children have plenty to do to keep us occupied without wasting our efforts on trying to stop the locomotive that’s running downhill.

    Sound “defeatist”? Not to me…it sounds realistic. Let the religious people try and preserve what it was that they had…I’m more interested in my new home and what the Lord has waiting for me, and I fully expect these last days to become like the ones in Noah’s day.

    It was foretold.

    DaveG.

    • Dear Dave,
      Thank you for taking the time to respond. Your comments are very well expressed, articulate and notable. Yet I’m a bit confused because I thought I was expressing the same view as you in my article, as stated:

      “Yet spiritual change will not ultimately come as something pressing upon the masses. It begins in the heart, in preaching and sharing the Gospel. It begins from the inside out, as it does with all of us.”

      The world will hate Christians as they first hated Christ. There will be persecution and evil that will grow as the day of the Lord approaches. It’s already prophesized. As such, I don’t believe the ultimate battle is political. As Christians, we seek spiritual change in the individual, through the Gospel. The Apostle Paul said it himself: “I preach Christ alone”, and so our focus ought to be on Christ and Christ alone. What else has the power to save, no matter what is going on politically?

      I don’t believe that godly leaders and God-honoring laws will change the heart of man, yet (and I think this is where we may differ a bit), I do believe they have their place. As I noted in my post, they are to keep society from going completely berserk. They are there for the preservation of society, not its ultimate salvation. There will always be tension because those who don’t know the Lord will resist Christian principles and yes, God will allow this majority to rise up for a time, for His purpose before He ultimately rules forever.

      However, that does not mean that we should disregard the polls or be unconcerned about the issues. Godly leaders (if there really are any) are indeed given by God and it would be careless not to respond in support. However, nowhere do I believe that we should dedicate ourselves to political activism to the detriment of sharing the Gospel; perhaps my writing wasn’t clear enough.

      I don’t think you are being defeatist. I cringe at the world the next generation will have to face and for this reason I’m glad I have not brought any children into this world.

      Even so, I rest in the knowledge that the Lord will prevail over all.

      God Bless,
      Margo

  4. Maybe something was “lost in the translation”, Margo…lol.

    Truth be told, I have personally decided that a strategic withdrawal from this world and its ways is not only best for my spiritual welfare, but best for my sanity as well. 🙂

    Things are getting worse by the minute, at least to my way of thinking, and one way I have found peace is to distance myself from news channels and anything else that delivers the “day to day” of the nations, especially America. I recognize that, according to Scripture, the Lord put those who are in office there ( Daniel 2:21, Romans 13:1 ), and I as a believer am supposed to obey the powers that be…because they are ordained. I’m also supposed to pray for those in authority ( 2 Timothy 2:1-2 ). I’m not saying that you aren’t… that’s quite another topic. What I am trying to state is this:

    Unlike you, I don’t believe that Christ’s sheep should be involved politically. Because of this, I have stopped voting entirely, and I let my voter’s registration expire years ago. I was once a registered Republican, until I realized that in the long run it really didn’t matter to me. I wasn’t too unlike what you appear to be not all that long ago, and then God showed me something:

    In the eternal sense, this world isn’t worth anything compared to the closeness of God through His Spirit.

    What I really care about is helping my brothers and sisters to grow spiritually by exhorting and admonishing them to seek God’s face and His will through their personal study of His word and prayer…enough so that they, too, will see Him as I do:Terrible to His enemies, and loving and merciful to His children…immensely loving.

    All the other stuff is simply fading into the background for me. My real focus is gradually becoming Jesus Christ. Please believe me when I tell you that it has taken Him a long time to get through my thick head how much He loves me and all that He has done and is doing for me…and I’m sure He has much yet to show me in the years ahead.

    May you grow richly in His grace and knowledge, my sister.

Leave a Reply

