DOES GOD PROMISE TO FEED AND CLOTHE CHRISTIANS?

I got to housesit for my sister a few months ago, and part of job was to pick figs from her yard. I was amazed at the volume a couple of trees could produce.  Here’s about four days worth:

Every day I’d wake up to see that more were ready to pick overnight. Ahhh….like manna from heaven. That got me to thinking about God’s provision. We take it for granted that he has bountifully provided all types of plants and trees that bear food that is palatable and sustainable for life, (Genesis 1:11-12).

I also happen to be between jobs right now so the topic of provision is not far from my mind. Naturally, I wonder how much of my savings I’ll burn through before I get a job, especially since I’ve had some really big expenses lately.

My circumstance is nothing compared to many on the other side of the globe…or even here at home. I’ve always had enough for groceries, but there are people who don’t know where their next meal will come from.

Jesus speaks of provision in Matthew 6:31-33 – “So do not worry, saying “What shall we eat?” or “What shall we drink?” or “What shall we wear?” For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things shall be given to you as well”.

I’ve contemplated this passage often, to be honest. While I trust the Lord, I could never make sense of the reality that there is very real hardship in this world. Poverty plagues even the most devoted Christians, those of whom the Father knows need provision, food, and shelter. I know He uses the hearts and charity of his people to give to the poor, but as Jesus also said, the poor will always be with us. (Matthew 26:11).

How then, do people still die of starvation when Jesus says God will provide for them?

In my effort to study this topic, I came across this article by John Piper, Founder and Teacher of desiringGod.org. I don’t often post other people’s writing, but his approach to a very complicated subject is by far the most comprehensive I’ve read, and he expresses his study so much better than I ever could.

To borrow one of his opening paragraphs, Piper states:

“It is so crucial for Christians, especially for Christian teachers and preachers, to take questions like this with utter seriousness. So often we use promises in the Bible which on the face of it seem unrealistic, and yet we don’t pause to give some plausible explanation of how those promises are to be used, realistically used. So we need a heavy dose of realism whenever we embrace promises like this”.

I hope you give a moment to read and share your thoughts in the comment section below.

https://www.desiringgod.org/interviews/does-god-promise-to-feed-and-clothe-christians

Thank you, friends. May God bless you today.

 

Leave a comment